Another Favorite Thing!

interstellar-movie-chris-nolanI swear that the first time I heard and loved this poem was not in the movie Interstellar, although I would pay money to hear Michael Caine read it and other poems every second of every day.

I swear on my love for Twinkies and McDonalds cheeseburgers stuffed inside of Subway sandwiches that the first time I heard a line from this poem was from Seann William Scott in The Rundown.  The movie was corny and fun (movies with The Rock are always fun) but the poem seemed out of place and dark to me.  I looked up the line and discovered one of my favorite poems of all time.  When the preview for Interstellar came out I loved it instantly; then Michael Caine started saying this poem and I had an orgasm.

The poem was originally written by Dylan Thomas for his father who was dying (this is the popular theory anyway).  Thomas was Welsh and as such, drank a lot; which leads me to believe that to become a better blogger I should drink quite a bit more.  I hope you enjoy it.

Do not go gentle into that good night

Dylan Thomas, 19141953

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

From The Poems of Dylan Thomas, published by New Directions. Copyright © 1952, 1953 Dylan Thomas. Copyright © 1937, 1945, 1955, 1962, 1966, 1967 the Trustees for the Copyrights of Dylan Thomas. Copyright © 1938, 1939, 1943, 1946, 1971 New Directions Publishing Corp. Used with permission.

From The Poems of Dylan Thomas, published by New Directions. Copyright

7 comments

    • There is something primal about it. It tackles a subject that is usually ignored by most people. I hope death being a daily discussion doesn’t mean it is affecting you all the time, but I do think for most of society, death needs to be talked about in more frank terms.

  1. I know this about a deeper subject, but I’m fixating on the McDonalds cheeseburger stuffed inside a Subway sandwich. Just put it on my bucket list. I must try before I rage against the dying of the light.

      • I’m curious what kind of sandwich you are talking about, all but one of the ones that I can think of give me the urge to donate my dinner to Mr. Toilet. …Maybe the plain old bacon lettuce tomato sandwich would work though.

Leave a Reply

