Inside Out


Inside_Out_2015_film_posterThat poor head!  It must have such a headache with all those cartoon characters dancing around.

Movie: Inside Out

Main Actors: Amy Poehler, Bill Hader and Lewis Black

MPAA Rating: PG

Passionate Expressions:  Hahaha, I wouldn’t say so no.  They spend alot of time building up to the word, shut-up, although it was tied to the plot.

Useless Vulgar Language:  Nope

Sex in Reality:  None.

Imaginary Sex:  None.

Real Violence:  Yes, although it is a cartoon, this is a Pixar movie and generally violence is a part of it.  Although, just like all Pixar movies the violence is part of the plot.

Action Violence:  Nope.

Pointless Violence: Also Nope.

Overall Rating:  A+

Scorecard

Cinematography: A

Visual Effects: A+

Sound/Score: A

Story: A+

Acting (Voicing): A+

Food to Watch With:  Pizza, although, pizza with a topping you wouldn’t usually consider.

Plot Synopsis:  The Emotions inside of a young girl fight against themselves only to discover that there is more to life than just Joy.

Review:  This movie was beautiful.  From the animation to the story telling to the voice acting, this movie was truly beautiful.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this movie and just like all Pixar previews the main story was left vague and difficult to determine; but just like all Pixar movies, I needn’t have worried.  I won’t give away to much of the plot but the basic premise is about how emotions are a part of us how they need to evolve to that we are able to grow up.  Pixar always puts faith in its audience, faith that they can handle complex story lines and characters, and this movie pushed that faith to the limit.  I love movies and I pride myself on enjoying “deeper” movies and this one required all of my attention to catch all the little thoughts and ideas they were projecting on the screen (I’m sure I still missed a few).  I laughed a lot and I cried an awful lot in this movie, even more than usual for a Pixar film.  I hope that Pete Doctor (director/writer), who also did UP is given more to do as everything he has done so far has been nearly perfect.  I disagree with most critics that this movie is a return to form for Pixar; I don’t think they were ever out of form.  However, this movie is light years ahead of any of it’s competition in both complexity and depth.  They might not have been out of form, but they definitely raised the bar.

Life Lessons: Everyone has to grow up and that is not necessarily a bad thing.

Summary:  Beautiful, wonderful and awesome movie that will entertain all ages for generations.

Would I Watch This Again:  Yes Please!!!!

5 comments

  1. I can’t wait to see this movie its not released in the uk yet but me and my boy have a mummy and son date booked for its release at the end of the month we love Pixar movies…. your blog that links to this is also beautiful thanks for sharing some of your fondest memories it really was a lovely post to read

Leave a Reply

