Contraband

Ohhh, look at me, I’m Mark Wahlberg and I’ve got cash strapped to my overly muscular stomach of awesomeness!!!

Movie: Contraband

Main Actors: Mark Wahlberg, Giovanni Ribisi, Kate Beckinsale and Mark Wahlberg’s muscles.

MPAA Rating: R (I thought it was more a PG-13)

Passionate Expressions:  A few, done in the heat of the moment.

Useless Vulgar Language:  I would have to say a few fell into this category as well.  If they were tied to the plot then I missed it as sometimes, well, I’m not even sure what the plot was.

Sex in Reality:  Nope.

Imaginary Sex:  Not really, sex wasn’t a part of this movie.

Real Violence:  Yes, a little.  Mark Wahlberg’s character does a bit of this.

Action Violence:  I would say most of the movie was this kind of violence; put in there to entertain only.

Pointless Violence: Nothing entered this category.

Overall Rating:  B-

Scorecard

Cinematography: B

Visual Effects: A

Sound/Score: C+

Story: C

Acting: A-

Food to Watch With:  Hmmm, what would they eat in a ship galley.  I think it would be beans, rolls and some kind of hamburger gravy.  Eat that.

Plot Synopsis:  Ex-criminal becomes a current criminal to help out his family and keep the crazy criminal off of his back.

Review:  I’ll start with the positive.  All of the actors: Wahlberg, Beckinsale, Foster and Ribisi acted their parts well.  I have to give some major kudos to Foster as he pulled out some major emotional guns and really walked away with it.  There were some great action scenes and a couple of fun supporting characters that made the movie move along at a brisk and fun pace.  However, I just didn’t care about what was going on.  It is hard for me to care about movies about criminals, the plot lines need to be well developed and the heavy emotions need to be tied to that development.  This movie did not do that.  There were a couple different plot lines that changed in importance throughout the film and then got lost entirely during some twists that were not executed very well.  Sometimes I felt like a was watching a puppet movie and the writers were having Wahlberg dance over here and then get super-serious and then dance over there. Maybe they were trying to do too much, maybe they had too little to work with, I’m not sure which one it was.  Over-all, it was a fun action movie with good acting, but nothing to write home about.

Life Lessons: Every family has that one member who is, well you know…stupid.

Summary:  Decent action movie.  I’ll leave it at that.

Would I Watch This Again:  It I have left over nachos and nothing else to do, sure.

5 comments

  1. My husband kept bugging me to rent this movie for a while now, finally I ran across it on Blockbuster @Home so I rented it in Blu-ray. We got it in the mail the other day and sat down to watch it. It was actually a good movie I thought, it kept us on our toes, we were rooting for Mark and I couldn’t stand his brother-in-law. Overall I would recommend this to my family and even my Dish co-workers.

  2. I liked this movie…at least worth a red box rental 🙂 It was good action/suspense and I love my Mark 🙂 But definitely wanted to kill the brother-in-law…such a freakin idiot.

Leave a Reply

