The Grey

I don’t have any money, but what I do have is a very giant face.

Movie: The Grey

Main Actors: Liam Neeson, Dermot Mulroney and Frank Grillo

MPAA Rating: R (I would not argue with this rating).

Passionate Expressions:  Lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and……

Useless Vulgar Language: Considering the story line and the types of people who are involved, I’m inclined to say there isn’t

Sex in Reality:  Non existent.

Imaginary Sex:  No sex in this movie.

Real Violence:  Yes.  In fact, if you saw the preview for this movie, you would think it is an action movie.  Another miss for the preview makers: this isn’t an action movie, but there is a lot of grisly violence and all of it is tied to the plot extremely well.

Action Violence:  I didn’t see any.  All of it related to the story line and was very potent in its conclusions.

Pointless Violence: Nope.

Overall Rating:  A+

Scorecard

Cinematography: A

Visual Effects: B

Sound/Score: A

Story: A+

Acting: A+

Food to Watch With:  This is a movie you watch with a cigar in one hand and some kind of alcoholic beverage in the other.

Plot Synopsis:  Wolves plague a band of plane-wrecked oil workers and drive them to the truest versions of themselves.

Review:  When I saw the preview for this movie I thought, Hooray, I love Liam Neeson.  The preview then showed him fighting wolves and I thought, I would love to watch Liam Neeson fight wolves.  Well…I finally had the chance to watch it this weekend and I can happily say….I had no idea the treasure that was in store.  This isn’t a movie about Liam Neeson’s complete awesome manliness, his special set of skills or even about fighting wolves (although he does); this is a movie about belief and taking stock of one’s self-worth.  As usual, I won’t give away too many spoilers, but be prepared for some tearing up, stress, and some serious introspection.

I very highly recommend that you watch this movie either alone or with other close personal friends first.  Primarily because I think this is a movie made for severe honesty in the viewer, and if you are all close and honest with each other, it could spur some significant conversations.  Secondly, this is one you probably want to watch before you pop it in the DVD player for those who are not as fond of movies as you are, as the violence is very intense and there is a significant gore and scare factor.  The acting is phenomenal and scenery is fantastic, which more than makes up for the somewhat poor quality of the special effects and set construction.  Easily one of the best movies I’ve ever seen; I’m surprised I didn’t hear more of an uproar about how great it was when it was running on the big screen.

Life Lessons:  Can you do it yourself?

Summary:  Terrific movie that doesn’t pull its punches.

Would I Watch This Again:  This is a movie that I will be promoting to my friends and watching again as soon as possible as well as adding to my own personal library.

2 comments

  1. I enjoyed this one a lot. Ray. No cigar, but the beer was in my hand. I love survival stories and this one worked for me. Especially toward the end, outside by the river, one by one the lone survivor. Alpha dog vs. alpha dog. Liam was great in this.

Leave a Reply

