Apollo 18

Apollo 18 Poster

Movie:  Apollo 18

Main Actors:  Warren Christie and Lloyd Owen

MPAA Rating: PG-13 (it just as easily could have been rated R)

Passionate Expressions:  Yes

Useless Vulgar Language:  Yes, more then I was expecting

Sex in a Good Light:  None

Sex in a Bad Light:  None

Violence:  Yes, when the movie picked up there was quite a bit of violence and it was very abrupt.  It was done in a manner to scare but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t part of the plot.

 

Overall Rating:  B

Scorecard

Cinematography: A – I loved this part

Visual Effects: A

Sound/Score: B

Story: B

Acting: B

Food to Watch With:  Do you remember what food you ate when you watched 2001: A Space Odyssey or A Space Oddity (I’ve heard it both ways)? If you do, eat that.  If you don’t remember or you didn’t eat any food when you watched it then think about what you would have eaten and eat that.

Plot Synopsis:  The moon says: “Leave me alone!”

Review:  To tell you the truth, I’m not sure what to say about this movie.   Did I like it, yes.  I felt like I was watching a more up-tempo and action filled version of 2001: A Space Odyssey.  There was more gore then I was prepared for but the story-line was not too far reaching (as in there was no fate of the universe plot line going on, these dudes were just really, really scared).  I don’t want to say too much cause I would give the whole movie away.  I would say if you are a sci-fi fan and you can handle a little gore and you are not in the mood to watch explosions and gun fights then this would be a good one to watch.

Life Lessons:  All of our movies and books about evil aliens and we never thought to give astronauts some kind of weapons!?!

Summary: Good movie to watch at home when in a mellow sci-fi mood.

Would I Watch This Again:  Yes.

One comment

Leave a Reply

