The Andromeda Strain

The-Andromeda-Strain-(1971)Movie:  The Andromeda Strain

Main Actors:  Arthur Hill, David Wayne, James Olson and Kate Reid

MPAA Rating: G (I love the ratings of these old movies, why did they even have a ratings system back then?)

Passionate Expressions:  Can’t think of any.

Useless Vulgar Language:  Nothing that I caught onto.

Sex in a Good Light: No sex in this movie, thank goodness.  This movie was so slow the scene would have taken 20 minutes.

Sex in a Bad Light:  Some people were naked to go through decontamination but you didn’t see anything and it was not filmed in a sensual way at all.  Watch it and you’ll see what I mean.

Real Violence:  Yes, even slow violence is still violence

Action Violence: Don’t think so.

Pointless Violence:  Nope

Overall Rating:  B+

Scorecard

Cinematography: B

Visual Effects: B

Sound/Score: C

Story: A until the end and then it was a C

Acting: B

Food to Watch With:  Something with lots of peanut butter cause it takes a loonnngggg time to chew.

Plot Synopsis:  Alien bacteria is brought back to earth by a satellite and it is super deadly.

Review:  It has been a week of slow movies for me,  first Apollo 18 and now The Andromeda Strain.  I’m not saying it is bad.  Slow movies can be interesting and in both of the mentioned cases it was.  Some really elaborate sets were built for this movie, you could tell by the way they were filming it that they were trying to make it an epic.  It is based on a Michael Crichton novel and is very well thought out.  When it first started I was expecting something a bit more action filled but when I realized it wasn’t I tried to get into it and enjoy it for what it was.  What I found was a story that had been examined from the front, back, side, top and bottom.  You realize after the 50th scene of people standing around and explaining things to each other that they really wanted you to think that they had thought of everything, that the way the story was unfolding was how it should, that the methods the scientists were using were correct; and I believed it.  I thought they were doing a great job.  Everything seemed to be accounted for, from the decontamination of the scientists to the safety procedures ,everything was explained and shown in very long detail.  Until the end anyway.   The end was so cheap and maddening I wanted to scream at the tv but it had been so long since I had talked that I had forgotten where my mouth was.  I can’t tell you how the ending  was cheap without spoiling anything, but I will say that I hate it when writers change the rules of the story to get the outcome they desire.  No lessons can be learned that way.

Life Lessons:  Scientists like to build big and dangerous things and then yell at the military when things go wrong.

Summary: I’m still mad.

Would I Watch This Again:  I won’t, but if you haven’t seen it yet then I won’t say you shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

