The Adjustment Bureau

adjustment bureauQuick, pretend like you’re running!

Movie:  The Adjustment Bureau

Main Actors:  Matt Damon and Emily Blunt

MPAA Rating: PG-13 – this rating seemed fair

Passionate Expressions:  A few.

Useless Vulgar Language:  Some strong ones.  Apparently they though that since they cut back on the sex and the gory violence they could throw some more F-bombs in there.  Don’t you love ratings.

Sex:  There is a sex scene in this movie.  It seemed unnecessary to the story.  They pretty much only did it so they could have a sex scene.  Blah!

Real Violence:  Yes, although there is very little violence.

Action Violence: Nope

Pointless Violence:  Yes.  Watching Emily Blunt awkwardly running around was violence against my eyeballs.

Overall Rating:  A-

Scorecard

Cinematography: A-

Visual Effects: A

Sound/Score: B

Story: A

Acting: B+

Food to Watch With: How about some ice-cream.

Plot Synopsis:  Man attempts to change his fate.

Review:  Another movie that I wasn’t expecting to like that I loved.  I think the people that make previews really blow it sometimes.  I will even say this was one of the most romantic movies of its year.  I know I’ve said it before but I will say it again.  Every time I see another Julia Roberts/Meg Ryan/Katherine Heigl movie I feel like puking my guts out; not because I hate romantic movies but because I love them and those women are destroying them.  AAAaaaaarrrrrggggg.  Anyway, during a decade that has been desperately needing some romance with content this one floated to the surface.  Neither Matt Damon nor Emily Blunt are among my favorites and my wife and I spent a good deal of time laughing at Matt Damon/Emily Blunt running, but they both did a decent job in this one.  The plot for this movie was very complex and explained very well; interesting ideas and philosophical tenants abounded but what this movie centered on for me was a love story and a man doing everything he could to be with the woman he loved.  I will always root for movies like this, movies that don’t treat the viewer like an idiot.

Life Lessons:  Hats should come back into style, the world looks better that way.

Summary:  Great movie for romance and starting religious and philosophical discussions.  Win win.

Would I Watch This Again:  I sure will.

Leave a Reply

